Jar Attraction – Part 2

Welcome back!  Just had to see this hip new version of the bunny huh?  Let me tell you how it came about.  I am an avid gardener, fruit & vegetable as well as floral.   I preserve what ever we don’t eat up.  While the kids were all at home, I used quart jars the most so there would be enough for a meal.  The kids are grown and living their own lives now and I have a amazing amount of quart jars in the garage not in use much anymore.  Sad I know.

The “light bulb” went off a month ago, well it was probably more like February while I was making jam.  I remember I was thinking ahead to Easter, you can never be too prepared, LOL.  These light bulb moments hit me at the most inopportune times, while I am pouring scalding hot jam into pint jars.  Sheesh!  This idea took some configuring and casting of some large ball ornaments to start.  Here they are all cleaned up and ready to paint.

masonjarlidplain

I cut some holes in the top for use later on and I cut the ball at the base so it would sit flat.  Not an ornament anymore, that is for sure.  The next task was to paint the bunnies face onto the ball.  Always enjoyable, after all these years, I still smile when it is finished.

masonjarbunnypainted

Admit it, you smiled.  I won’t tell, they have that effect on everyone, little devils.  Now, I know you are wondering about the quart jars that are wasting away in my garage.  Don’t worry I will show you the jars new job, hold on.  Do you remember the holes in the balls head.  I gave her some fabric ears, its not a bunny with out ears, right?

bunnyjarwithears

Now we are talking!  Again a smile, huh.  She still needed a function and this is why I flattened out the ball at the base.  This way a jar lid would fit into the base and then I could attach it to my quart jar.  Whaaaaaaaaa laaaaaaaa!

masonjarbunnyfinished

This quart jar has a new function, a candy jar!  Or buttons, money, skies the limit.  You are only limited by your own imagination, so I have been told many times.  I have never suffered when I have thought outside the box!  In October, I will show you some other designs that were inspired by Max Terry.

See you next week, Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Ceramics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jar Attraction – Part 2

  1. Colli says:

    This is adorable! I can’t wait to see more!

Leave a Reply

