Jar Heads

I am so pleased that you enjoyed the Max Terry inspired bunny jar!  As I sat in my office after finishing the blog, I realized how many items were inspired by that one book.  It never occurred to me what an impact it made on what and how I painted certain things.  Since we’re approaching October, this is the perfect time to pull out the other jar heads.

I already told you that Halloween just isn’t my cup of tea.  Then, I remembered the best part of this time of year………. Candy Corns!  My son, Shamus and I love them.  I look forward to them every year.  I originally made these jar heads to store my share of the candy corns in.  I wanted to have some sort of decoration by my chair in the living room where I sat to do my needlework.  A decoration that would depict the holiday we were celebrating.  So, that is really how these jar heads started.

The Frankenstein head came about when my Mom asked me for a companion yard plaque to go with her pumpkin head.  She said she’d like to stay with the head theme, boy does that sound weird.  So, along came Frankenstein for my Mom.

Pumpkinplaque osfrankensteinplaque

Frankie and Pumpkin head were then re-drawn to fit the rounded surface of the ball jar topper.

halloweenjartoppersgrouped

The pumpkin head looked unfinished.  While processing our fairy squash one year, I realized the tops were small enough to fit the bill.  They look just like the vine stumps on Halloween jack-o-lantern pumpkins just smaller in size.  I told ya the light bulb moment seems to always happen when I am cooking over a hot stove! LOL.

Yes, the jar is holding M & M’s, I took the picture before the candy corns were available, I guess I should take a new picture this year with the candy corns in their rightful place.  These playful, fun jars are always full of my favorite treat according to the season.  I still have to work on some generic designs for the rest of the year though.

Enjoy the changing of the seasons, cooling evenings, falling leaves, wonderful time of year, Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Ceramics and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

