Memories of Cocoa Bean

As some of you might know my daughter, Colleen, got me started blogging.  It was such a struggle to get started.  I had many starts and stutters along the way.  The first year was an effort in perseverance!  With age comes wisdom, I hope LOL, I finally just started to visit with myself.  Starting conversations with just me, it slowly became easier to convey my thoughts, share my duds as well as the successes.

I am an introvert and hermit, and enjoy solitary pursuits, so talking to myself was easy, he he he.  My neighbors would tease me because I would always be talking to my best friends, my dogs!  They never discouraged me, they never talked back to me, they were always understanding and I loved them with all my heart!  As my constant companions, they learned how to garden, cast ceramics, paint, cook, and clean house to just name a few.  Oh, and lets not forget, they loved my choice of music and we listened to a lot of books on tape together!  I miss them daily, hourly, well just plain all the time.

The kids would bring home animals and swear they were going to take care of them.  You know how that is of course.  Unfortunately, while they were at school, sports practice, 4-H, etc. Mom was keeping them company, feeding them, they became my pets more than the kids pets.  Our son, Shamus, was given a chocolate labrador when he was a Sophomore in high school.  He named him Cocoa, for his coloring.

Cocoa Bean

This loveable lug went everywhere with me.  I owned and operated a full service ceramic shop while Shamus was at school.  Cocoa came with me (that’s where he learned to paint) every day we were open and he would keep me company at home while I casted the ceramics for the shop (that’s where he learned how to cast).  I would talk to him all the time, in fact if didn’t talk to him enough trouble would ensue.  Once he chewed up my new shoes when I failed to converse with him.  Too funny, looking back.  At the time I was beside myself, he never destroyed anyone else’s items but mine.

It has been just shy of 2 years since my best friend passed away.  I still talk to him, he is buried in the garden he loved to tend with me.  I don’t think the ache will ever go entirely away.  I hope every person gets to experience the unconditional love a pet gives.  There really is nothing in this world like it.  Cocoa, Mom misses you very much!

Hug your pet today for me……. Cyn

 

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Memories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

