Yo-yo’s on parade….

It has begun!  The fabric, clearance of course, has been assembled.  The crafting calendar has been cleared so that I can devote my free time to a Christmas project for myself.  Truly, a weird sensation I must say, I hardly ever create for myself.  This is the year though!

yoyogarlandbeginningMy favorite part of the Christmas season is without a doubt the Christmas Tree.  I must admit the music comes in a close second, with my holiday baking trailing in third.  Our children always waited, so excited, for the lights to be put on our tree.  I always put the tree up Thanksgiving weekend so that I could enjoy it for a month.  The kids liked as many lights as possible, so I wrapped the center of the tree in white twinkle lights and then started at the top and wrapped all the branches in multi-colored twinkle lights all the way to the bottom.  Once the lights were on, which took me at least 8 hours, the kids would help decorate the rest of the tree.

As the kids got older, the job fell to me.   We choose to be “green” before it was fashionable and bought a beautiful artificial tree oohhh in the late 1990′s sometime.  It has held up beautifully to this day.  At first no one realized it was artificial, LOL.   The ritual of decorating the tree became less enjoyable as the kids grew up and were less interested in helping decorate it.  I decided to find some new ways to decorate it, tinsel was out once you had a artificial tree.  I found beautiful bead garlands, which worked for several years, they reflected the lights wonderfully.  A few years later, I decided to try my hand at a ribbon garland with bows scattered throughout.

treewribbongarlandWe received so many compliments on this garland.  I started out with just the red garland, found this gorgeous transparent gold stripped ribbon a few years back and added it to the mix.

Sorry to say, I am bored with this now and needed a new tree design!  I hate to admit it, but, decorating the tree had started to become a dreaded chore.  The excitement and anticipation was slipping fast.  So, I decided to shake things up this year!  Yoyo’s were my inspiration!

pileofyoyosI just started to string them together.  I have a huge tin of discarded, used, and extra buttons.  The buttons will be interspersed throughout the yoyo’s.  I can feel some new excitement for the job of decorating the tree begin, just a niggle but I am encouraged!The garland is showing some promise……………….

yoyogarlandstartedStay tuned, the Christmas season is will soon be upon us and I am determined to have this garland ready.  The new tree will be revealed, I hope you will be here to see it!   Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Fabric crafting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

