Bootin’ it Up………

Centerpieces, they are without a doubt, predominately glass.  Glass vases, glass bowls, glass glass glass.  I am a believer that you should use what ever fits your mood.  Take that glass vase and place it inside an unexpected item.  It is so easy and you are using what is already at your disposal.  Let’s see, I have used a pumpkin from the garden, a teapot, a rubber boot (kids size), a pretty wrapped gift box, just to name a few.  Skies the limit really.  You are only limited by your own imagination.

With this in mind, our daughter, Colleen asked me to create some cowboy boot centerpieces for her wedding some years back.  She knew we had a mold for a 10″ ceramic boot.  The challenge was to create 10 individual designs for her centerpieces.  At first the task was daunting, I stalled after the first 6.  Once I let go of the preconceived notions there were too many to choose from.  Since that day, I am asked to paint a new boot every once in a while.  This is the latest adventure I took down the boot aisle.  Funny enough, it was for me!

I grew up spending time doing jigsaw puzzles with my Mom and Grandma Cirner.  Sometimes with 2 of my sisters too.  It was an awesome way to spend a cold rainy afternoon.  Hot chocolate at the ready, quiet time together or loads of laughter always a plus.  This hobby of sorts has long been a standard to this date.  As I finished the latest puzzle, it crossed my mind that it might make a great boot theme.  I proceeded to search the internet for some line drawings of puzzle pieces, just to see if it might be possible.  From the scarcity of line drawings I knew this was going to be a challenge.  Let’s do this……

bisqueboot

Here is the starting point.  A bisque boot, glazed inside all ready to go.  I decided to start with the easy things, painting the bottom portion of the boot, sole, and heel.  I am hoping that as I get going I will be able to visualize where to draw on the puzzle pieces.  We shall see if it works.

Till next time.  Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Ceramics, Custom and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

