Scarecrows honored……

Scarecrows are one of the most iconic symbols of falls arrival.  Historically, the Egyptians were the first to use scarecrows to save their crops from quail.  Down through the centuries they have been called many names but always their use was to save crops from various animals.  The German immigrants, in the United States, made what they called “bootzamon”.  The Bootzamon were human looking scarecrows, dressed with old clothing and a red scarf around their necks.   Later they were referred to as the “Bogeyman”.

These are the scarecrows that I grew up with.  I never knew their history and it now makes sense to me why some referred to them as bogeyman.  The horror film genre has taken this to a whole new level, but that is a another topic all on its own.

If you have visited with me before, then you know that I am trying to make myself a mason jar topper for every season.  A candy jar with flair, LOL.  A jar that my grandchildren can’t get into, well at least for a little while longer.  I have made the traditional “jack-o-lantern” and the “frankenstein” toppers so I have Halloween covered.  Thanksgiving, my favorite holiday, should be represented by the “scarecrow”.  As an avid gardener, I give thanks for the bounty that I grow, pick, and preserve every year.  This ritual of harvesting and canning always feeds us the rest of the year.  So, it makes sense for me to give him the honor of representing the Thanksgiving season.

scarecrowplaque

This scarecrow yard plaque, I made years ago.  It hangs in my yard during the fall season.  I am hoping to adapt my design to the jar topper.  So far, I have taken the ball ornament and cut it down so it sits flat and will receive and hold a canning jar rim securely.  It is funny how this ceramic mold of ours never is used as an ornament.  I have glazed the inside for food safety purposes and we are ready to get started.

scarecrowtopper1Painting this should pose very few problems.  I will get started tonight, we’ll see you next time.  Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Ceramics, Custom, Painted fun and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

