A Jar-ring experiment…..

Okay, I have always shared the successes and the disasters.  That is the experimental side of adventures my husband and I take with crafting creativity.  We have laughed so hard we cried after some of the misadventures we stumbled upon!  You might be new or you might have already read some of our adventures, but you will find we really have a good time in our spare time!

Today is one of those days for misadventures.  I have been waiting for all of my canning rims to finish their spa treatment.  They are so relaxed, shining, and ready to take the next step.  The next step turned out to be a misstep.  I had been laying out the beautiful rims, getting them in order and placed just so.  My problem began when they would slide before I could get them secured.  I had thought to use wire to attach them to my round wire base.  Well, that wasn’t going to work for several reasons, one being that I really wanted it to be permanently attached, two – I didn’t want the lovely item to fall apart in the weather in two years, and three – I had decided to add ribbon and needed it to hold together better so I could manipulate the wreath without it falling apart.  Sound reasons, huh?

So, I turned to Steven and he decided to test the rims to see how much heat they could handle before we started messing with the painted rims.  We thought we might be able to use our welder.  Sadly, no.  The heat was too much.  We then thought of soldering them together, nope the spot welds would be too hard to hide.  About now I am feeling like Goldilocks, one is too soft, one is too strong, now I need the just right. LOL.  Tomorrow I am picking up a micro torch, here comes the “just right” I am in need of.

In the meantime, I found some awesome ribbon to weave through out the wreath.

ribbon

It is a burlap type of ribbon with this beautiful plaid all over.  Not too showy either, we want the rims to be the star of this show.  The ribbon compliments the country feel of the canning rims.  I am getting impatient to see this recycling project finished and hanging at my front door.  So hang in there, it shouldn’t be long now…….. Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Painted fun, Trash to Treasure and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

