Shhhhhh…..

When my daughter, Colleen, got me to start blogging I felt that I should keep it light and more impersonal.  Seemed to me there was very little chance that anyone but my family and friends would read it.  This was mostly an exercise for me, a way to talk out and work out the do’s and don’ts in my ceramic work.  The process became an important part of my day.  A way to, I guess you could say, “Hear myself out” LOL.  I still enjoy it immensely.  I am going to break my own rule and be personal.

The last post I made was the day I left town to visit my Pop.  He had fallen and broke his hip at 78.  I guess that is when most of us will fall and break something, as we age.  Well, he isn’t recovering they way anyone hoped he would.  They have discontinued the rehab and have moved him into long term care.  He hasn’t the strength or will anymore to get back up on his feet.  His ability to communicate has been altered and I saw the frustration in his eyes at not being able to articulate and speak coherently.  The wonderfully witty, humorous, and educated College Math Professor was basically trapped inside.  That was the hardest and most painful result from the fall and resulting surgery.

I think if he could communicate things would be so different.  So, alas, I came home and threw myself into work (well actually my job, outside the home, went from part time to full time) ,working at home (our ceramics business is always busy this time of year), and getting ready for a busy holiday social season.  The only creative endeavor I have been able to accomplish has been making cards to keep sending my Pop, oh and taking pictures of his great grandkids, grandkids, and us to add to the newsy letters I add to the cards.  I am 5 hours away, so visiting will not be as frequent as I would like.

Thanksgiving has a whole new reflective and contemplative twist to it this year.  I am even more determined to look for all the good in, the positive ways, and the inspirational things and people that surround me.  To cherish and nurture these things and banish the negativity that plaques and pushes in all around me.  I don’t mean to sound Pollyannaish, I just think we all need to be a little more tolerant of and kinder to each other.

So, shhhhhhhhh and quiet the criticism and concentrate on the positive this week.  For those of you who stopped by, all 8 of you Ha ha ha, thanks for listening.  Steven and I are hoping to get our canning rim wreath finished and hanging before December 1st!

Time is at a premium for all of us this time of year, so Happy Thanksgiving!

Till next time, Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

