Mixed Blessings…..

My Pop passed late Christmas night and it was with mixed feelings that I entered the New Year.  I am so relieved that he is out of pain, not trapped inside a body that had lost it’s ability to talk or move, and he is free.  Selfishly, I weep for the loss of hugs, teasing, laughing, sitting in companionable silence to watch the birds and wildlife in his yard, loud cheering of sporting events and boisterous family card games, and his smile.  He always had more faith in my creative adventures than I did, he was always encouraging me to “give it a try” and sending articles on crafts I was interested in.  Truly, that must be where I get my fearlessness in attempting crazy projects!  I was truly blessed to be so lucky to have that wonderful man as My Pop!  I had been negotiating with the good Lord for many more years, but alas he was called home…….

PopWhile he was in the hospital, I sent him cards and newsy letters describing what this branch of his tree was up to and some of the projects I had in the works.  Laughing over the many attempts I was still making to assemble my canning lid wreath!  He must have been the angel on my shoulder yesterday, because I actually got it all to work and it is now finished (I will post that adventure soon).   I think that I am ready to get back into the swing and start creating!

The funeral is Friday morning in the Fresno area where my parents retired to, oh I don’t know maybe 10 years ago.  Then next weekend, here in Santa Rosa where we grew up and Pop taught at the Junior College for 30+ years, there will be a memorial service also.  Once we all get through those events things will settle down and life will resume (even if we aren’t ready for it) at its relentless pace.  I am eager to use this forum to heal and keep celebrating what my Pop encouraged me to do for so many years……………. Give It A Try!

Until then, give your Dads, Pops, Fathers, and Father figures a hug for me.  How we can take it for granted that they will always be there and POOF they are gone too soon.

Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Memories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

