New Twist on a Hug…..

My Granddaughter, Keegan, has a very unique view of life.  For her everyday is a struggle, everyday is an adventure too.  She has achieved more in her 8 years of life than the medical or academic community thought she ever would!  (You can read a guest blog I did about Keegan and ACC at http://creativediylikemotherlikedaughter.wordpress.com/2013/08/ then scroll down to August 22, Never say Never.

Keegan called me about 3 days before my Pop’s funeral service in the Fresno area.  She had spent the weekend with her “Grandma Stairs” (Stairs because she has lots of stairs at her house, I am Grandma Garden, due to the huge garden at my house).  Grandma Stairs had helped her cut out material ( her 1st quilting project) and use the sewing machine.  Keegan had created a quilted flower garden and wanted help making it into a gift for her Great Grandma Snow ( I think you’re getting it now, Snow because it snows at her house).  The finished quilted piece was about a 14″ square.

At first she talked about a pillow, but, my Mom isn’t crazy about clutter and unnecessary doodads.  She had told her Mom, our daughter Maureen, that she had made a garden to make Great Grandma smile and not feel lonely.  I suggested that we make a kitchen apron, something that my Mom would use everyday.  This extraordinary, perceptive little imp then blew me away by then saying, “Great Grandma Snow could then have a hug from me everyday!”   I immediately thought, Oh My Goodness! that is just the most fantastic way to look at an apron.  A simple hug everytime you tie the apron on, not just a way to keep your clothes clean or a place to dry your hands while cooking.  Simply amazing, why didn’t I think of it.

We got to work, with Keegan orchestrating every detail of the work to be done.  She had a clear picture in her mind of how it would look.  She sorted through my fabric closet and found just the perfect fabric, nothing too tame it needed to be cheerful.  She stood at my elbow while I sewed, approving every detail.  We added a pocket off to the right (Great Grandma is right handed) to put Hershey Kisses in.  You can’t have hugs without kisses you know!  The finished apron made Keegan glow with anticipation.

Keeganapron2Keeganapron4Keegan and Maureen sent Grandma Stairs a picture of her finished gift and told her about the hugs and kisses.  Grandma Stairs burst into tears at the thought and love poured into the apron by her amazing granddaughter!  She had no idea Keegan would be able to turn her 1st quilting project into such a beautiful gift.

The apron was opened the afternoon before the funeral.  Keegan explained her gift and Great Grandma Snow immediately put it on and received her first hug, oh and kisses too, with the promise of many more to come.

Apron’s now have a whole new meaning for me, I think I will give them as gifts more often!  Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Fabric crafting, Inspirational, Memories and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Twist on a Hug…..

  1. thank you for this tremendous post, I am glad I observed this website on yahoo.

Leave a Reply

