An Angel on my shoulder….

Have you ever felt a rush of excitement, it could be about anything?  Great anticipation for an upcoming event or job?  That is how I feel when a new idea or project is presented to me.  I become very single minded till I finish it up.  To tell the truth, I sometimes even get bored as the project comes to an end, the rush diminishes and I am ready for a new challenge.  Let me tell you it is a complete disaster when more than 2 ideas hit me at once!  I have to force myself to concentrate on, first of all the one I am paid to do, then in my free time I can play around with the other ideas.

Once in a great while, (sheesh) thank goodness, there are so many obstacles to overcome to achieve my goal.  I am sure you have experienced that too.  Everything you try has a problem and you despair of ever seeing it through to the end.  If you have followed or read some of the past posts, then you know that there is one project that I had hoped to finish before December 1st.  Obviously that never happened.  My canning jar rims wreath was my bugaboo!  The little darlings got there spa treatment and facelifts but, that is where we started to butt heads!

canningrimwreath1This is where I left them, piled and ready to attach.  WRONG, not so easy.  As I was so frustrated with how many different hard wares etc. wouldn’t work, I set it aside.  There was also my Pop’s declining health, the holiday’s and work which kept me pretty busy too.  Go figure, life would throw me a curve ball when I really wanted an easy 4-pitch walk! LOL.  So I set it aside, in plain sight, and hoped that inspiration would strike and I would hopefully get this wreath finished in time to pack it away for next year.

I came home after my Pop’s funeral and the beauty queens were still sitting on the bar wondering why they weren’t gussied up and on display.  Steven and I had bought a hand riveter as a last resort about a week before my Pop’s death.  I thought what better time to try it out.  So acting on this positivity, I gathered all my supplies, put a book on cd into the player, and got to work.  Steven had shown me how to use the riveter and I soon had several hooked together.  Oh, don’t get excited yet…………. I lifted them up to move them onto my wire back support……………… they popped apart!  The rivets couldn’t handle any tork at all.  This now was starting to FROST MY COOKIES!

When all else fails, I always go back to the simplest solution.

simpletoolsIce pick, piece of wood, wire,  and a hammer!  I will show the beauty queens who is boss!  A quiet calm settled around me, my book kept me company, and everything started to come together.  It was like my Pop was looking on saying, “Yes Cyn those tools are the right ones.  Give it another go.”  In a matter of an hour I had the first round completed.  I would place the rims where I wanted them, mark where I wanted the hole with a pencil, punch a hole threw with my ice pick and hammer, and wire them together.

roundone round2Second round finished!  I was on a roll with a sense of peace I hadn’t felt in months.  I knew he was right there with me, enjoying my joy at finally seeing this come together.  I had written him about this confoundit thing and it’s reluctance to join together.   The ribbon was next…..

ribbonaddedWe were almost there!  I needed to make a bow and hang it.

finishedwreathI could hear those beauty queens remarking, “Well, if we knew we were going to look this good we would have been easier to work with!”  In a matter of hours, what had started in October was finally finished.  There was definitely an angel on my shoulder and he once again showed me not to be afraid to try, to keep at it until I got it right!  I will miss him everyday, but once a year when I hang this wreath I will feel his presence and be at peace!  Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Inspirational, Painted fun, Trash to Treasure and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

