Coming up Roses……

My children seem to think I have a green thumb.  I am not sure if it is a green thumb or the fearless determination to try and see how it turns out.  I think it also has to do with the frugal, no not cheap, attitude I had to adopt in order to be a stay at home Mom for 3 kids.  If there was a way to do it myself for less, I gave it the old college try.  Success was fleeting in the beginning, but with repetitive attempts I became much more successful!

It is a very good thing that I love to work outside, I love yard work and gardening.  There is something so satisfying about growing your own vegetables from seed to the dinner table.  I do my best thinking while weeding and tending the yard, also you’d be amazed how many books I have read – well listened to- over the years.  Multi-tasking, I am a pro!  Ha ha, there is always a book or sporting event to listen to while I toil in the yard!

In the past two years, I set about learning how to root my own perennial plants from my established plants.  I bet you know how expensive a new hydrangea can cost!  Our 2 daughters had both bought homes of their own and they had asked us to save the extra plants for them when we split ours in the fall and spring.  We gave them daylilies, iris, princess lilies, coral bells, and such to start.  Then I decided to surprise them with some hydrangeas, elderberries, and butterfly bushes, if I could learn to root them.  The euphoria I felt when the first one finally took and started to bud was energizing!  I then became  obsessed with trying other plants too.  If I didn’t succeed the first time I tried again, time of year was important also, so I had to wait for the right season for each plant.  I think I became too successful though, LOL.

My eldest daughter, Maureen, loves roses.  Steven is a wonder with his roses.   The Rosy O’Donnell rose bush was her favorite and she couldn’t find one in stock anywhere.   She asked/dared/begged me to try my hand at roses.  I had been told that it was virtually impossible to root your own, that is like waving a red flag in front of a bull.  Oh my!  I quickly did the research, the roses were slowing down and getting ready to go into hybernation.  So, Steven saved me two long cuttings that had blooms attached.  I prepared them as instructed, placed them in a pot filled with sand only, and placed them against the house where they would get reflective warmth through out the fall/winter.  I religiously watered them so they didn’t dry out and talked to them about how my daughter was so excited with anticipation for a bush of her own.

It has been 4 months and when I went to check them today………………………

Rosecutting1 Rosecutting2Both have new buds!!!!!!! This is what I had prayed would happen!  Success, yes, yes, yes, yes, yes!  Spring is in the air and Maureen will have her rose bush.  On the other hand, Oh my Goodness, what will they ask me to try next?  Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

