Okay, truth be told……

My family feels that I wasn’t truthful enough about my “obsessions” he he he.  They feel that I omitted a rather large one.  While yeah, I admitted to my yellowman infatuation, I didn’t come clean with the other blind spot I have.  Duke Basketball!  Okay, so there I said it out loud.  Are you satisfied?  Duke basketball is very dear to my heart.  No, I didn’t go to school there!  No, I can’t dribble and run at the same time ( I am mortified to admit).  I am although an award winning, outstandingly loyal, and fantastically vocal spectator! (my neighbors will enthusiastically testify)

Blame it on the supremely poor television coverage of the Pac 10, now 12 division here in California!  It was virtually impossible to see our Stanford and California (Berkeley) basketball games, they were very seldomly broadcasted on television.  Now, the games are only available if you purchase the Pac12 channel to see them!  So, when our son, Shamus, became a competitor and fan of basketball (my that was now 20+ years ago) the only division you could consistently view was the ACC on ESPN.  I found Coach K and the Duke Blue Devils team extremely fun to watch and cheer on and Shamus was a huge fan of the UNC Tarheels.  A house divided!  Rival teams!  But, oh so much fun!

After all these years, my favorite team was 2002 to 2006.  I was a huge fan of Boozer and Redick.  Followed very closely by the 2007 -2011 team with Singler and Scheyer at the helm.  Oh, hell I love it all, Duke Basketball in general.  This past Mother’s Day Shamus surprised me with a T-shirt signed by Carlos Boozer and Chris Duhon!  OMG, yeah I cried I was so excited!  The brother of a man Shamus worked with was a member of the Chicago Bulls training staff.  He secured the signatures for this aging groupee, LOL.  The T-shirt is framed and proudly displayed on the wall behind our bar.  Shamus also outfitted me with Duke lounging pants, slippers, socks, a Cameron Crazy t-shirt, and a sweatshirt this Christmas!  To be so blessed!

barwall dukejerseyThis past month, this same wonderful gentleman added another signature to my t-shirt, Mike Dunleavy Jr.!  Well, I can’t thank him enough!  I think he has gone above and beyond for this Duke Fanatic.  My shirt will be proudly displayed for ever!

The same month my wonderful husband bought me the sirius FM radio set up so that I can take my Duke basketball on the road with me where ever I go!  Now I can pretend I am a Cameron Crazy while I am casting, gardening, or traveling in my car and listening to the live games!  So, there I have fessed up to the second of two obsessions I have. LOL.  Would you believe it, I can enjoy both at the same time……….. mmmmmmmm……… and March Madness is just around the corner!  Go Duke!  Till next time, Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Memories, Sports Related and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

