The wheels are rolling……

I have been waiting for a kiln to fire and cool enough to move forward on my mosaic bench.  While I wait, I thought I would show you how the wheels of my creative juices got to really turning after I finished my Mom’s yard flower last year.

My Mom’s flower petals were huge, I worried the petals wouldn’t be able to hold themselves up with all the temperature changes it was going to endure in the Yosemite Valley.  If hind sight were 20/20 I would have thought of that before cutting out such large petals, LOL.  So this time I changed the petal design, made them smaller and curvier.

daffadilflower

The plate came in handy again as the backing for my flower.  I had this half yard of daffodil material in my closet to use as the petals and I grabbed the other pinwheel that I hadn’t used the last time.  The pinwheel was painted in an orange with a black button this time around.

The assembly was identical to the last flower.  The petals were only approximately 2″ beyond the plate this time.  My Mom’s flower petals were a good 5 to 6 inches beyond the plates edge.  There were also many more petals because I didn’t want the edge of the plate to be seen.  That was one of the trade offs of having smaller petals.

daisyflower2I was really having too much fun with this!  I gave this one to a friend of the family who had invited us to see their new vegetable garden boxes.  Steven and I brought it over as a garden warming present.  (The saga of the vegetable boxes I will tell you about at another date)  I still had some ideas forming for another flower, because as you know we are Iris fans………………….. Enjoy, Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Ceramics, Custom, Fabric crafting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

