Flower Power!

Since I had given away the two yard flowers I had created, it was time to make one that I kept.  Steven and I both agreed that we needed to see how it would fare outside in all kinds of weather.  Most times these types of yard decorations are brought in for safe keeping until the next season comes around.  We were looking to keep it our year round.  We have quite a bit of deciduous trees and plants in our back yard and we were hoping the yard flower would give us some color to look at in the dead of winter.  Silly I know, but looking out our windows to see brown stems, dirt, and patio pavers was pretty depressing in the middle of winter.

Iris’s our favorite spring flower.  We have hundreds of them.  That is what we decided I try my hand at!  Here goes nothing.  I decided to use scrap fabric, if I achieved the look of an iris I would then remake one with my choice of fabric.  I knew it was going to be difficult to achieve the dimensional look of an iris, but never the less determined to give it a go.

irisbeginningsThe assembly was pretty much the same routine of the last 2 flowers.  The only additions was some super thin wire added in when I was sewing the piping on and veining sewn on with a contrasting color of thread.  Obviously, the large dinner plate wasn’t going to work as the back drop for this one.  Instead, I casted a coffee cup saucer to use.  Using pipe cleaners, I made the stamens for the center.   Finding the balance for the iris was by no means simple.  I started out with 3 petals on top and 4 drifting below, Oh My Goodness No, it was so out of balance and crowded.  Then I was concerned about the saucer being covered and not seen.  I finally decided to go for it with 6 total petals for now.

Yardiris2I can’t say that I am completely satisfied with this yet, but it was enough to use as a guinea pig for the winter!  Some changes need to be made and I just bought some much prettier fabric to use too.  Take a look at it after enduring the summer heat, frost, ice, and rain.

IrisafterayearThere it stands today in the rain.  The fading is minimal and the adhesive has held up through everything mother nature could throw at it.  Now I am ready to make myself a newly designed version of this iris and a few more like my second flower to boot!

To answer the question I have been asked quite a few times, what would you sell one for?  My answer is……………. Firstly, all of them take the same amount of time and materials.  Secondly, there is a minimum of $17.00 of material costs ( I never include cost of time) involved because I always buy the supplies on sale.  Thirdly, I would like to replace the cost of the yard flower being sold and be able to buy the materials for the next one.  So the final answer I guess would be somewhere between $30 to $35 excluding the shephards hook and shipping.

Now most of you are saying to yourselves, “That is too costly for me” and that is sooo okay.  I completely understand, I recently saw something made out of metal cheaply painted from China.  It’s cost was $15 to $18 depending on size.  My daughter and I said simultaneously ” Mine (Yours) looks ten times better” and we both laughed.  Each of us needs to surround ourselves with items that make us smile and are of value to you us.  For everyone it is different and that is what makes it so special!

Have a Flower Power Day!  Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Ceramics, Custom, Fabric crafting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

