Needled Gourd

Wow, I am finally making some progress!  You probably have forgotten the basket gourd that I got started back before Christmas sometime, even I can’t remember when LOL.  It only took two years to get the gourd completely dried, so who’s counting now!  When I visited my parents before my Pop broke his hip, they sent me home with the pine branches I was going to need for the edging of my basket.

pineneedles1The needles also took some time to dry.  I was worried about all the sap from the fresh needles, so I separated them from the branch and left them to dry.

pineneedlesAmazingly, the needles still retained some of the green pigment.  After measuring and marking the edge with 1/2″ increments in pencil, I took out my dremel and drilled the holes.

holesingourdThis delay of drying time for the pine needles actually worked in my favor.  Every time Steven and I looked for leather cording, we couldn’t find any.  Just when I needed the cording, I found it!  A nice buttery tan color.

Getting started was the tough part, I really didn’t know what I was doing.  I only knew what I was hoping it would resemble.  With a deep breath, hearing my Pop whisper “Go For It”, I dove in with both feet!  My yarn needle was perfect to lace the leather through.  Grabbing probably 8 or 9 of the needles and making sure they were all facing the same direction, I got started at the lower corner.  Adding more with every 5th stitch.

pineneedleedgingcloseupI realized I was holding my breath, ha ha ha.  Stunning how beautiful nature is!  I decided to leave the basket unlined, I loved the texture of the gourds interior.  Not wanting to detract from the gourds beauty also, the lining might have taken the focus off the basket as a whole.  Once I became more confident, it went quickly.

pineneedleedgedoneOne half of the edging finished!  Time to play coming to an end for today, we have a Little League Game to attend for our grandson, Donovan.  I will give you an update of the completely finished basket soon………………. Cyn

 

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Nature inspired and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

