Framing love…..

After my Pop’s funeral, my niece, Erin asked me to create a frame for her.  A frame that would hold a picture as well as the painted self portrait of her Grandpa (my Pop).  I had no problem getting the frame casted and fired, it was ready to paint in no time.  Now, as to the painting, I have stared at it for a long time.  I knew that if I procrastinated for too long, well actually procrastination is the wrong word.  I just emotionally wasn’t quite prepared or ready to paint the self portrait just yet.  I think Erin also needed time to mourn, start to heal, and truth to tell she probable forgot she asked me for it.

I figured I would push through the pain and get it finished, just maybe the act of painting would be a balm for my sorrow also.  This is exactly what happened, I came to start to talk to my Pop while I was painting him.   No longer were there tears while I painted.  The ache lessened, the sharp pain of viewing his portrait softened, and my healing started too.

Erinsframe1Erinsframe2Erinsframe3It is not just a sappy saying, “Working through the pain”.  It is apt in this circumstance.   While creating this request for my niece, I got through, worked through my pain while doing something I love to do……………… create and paint!    Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Ceramics, Custom, Memories and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Framing love…..

  1. Oh Princess, You made me cry but in a good way. Slowly I am beginning to heal. I miss my Pat terribly and like you I talk to him constantly. The caricature and photo are wonderful. Erin will treasure it. Love you, Mom

  2. Colli says:

    It is wonderful Mom! You did a beautiful job! Sending you and Gram love and hugs!!

Leave a Reply

