The Exercise of Healing……

Wow, I am amazed and amazed at the same time!  Amazed that it has been 2 months since I last posted to myself (most of you know that I post for myself and if you find it enjoyable, awesome!) and I am amazed that I didn’t go absolutely stark raving mad in the meantime!  My cast came off August 5th, but the real work has only begun.  I have quite a bit of trapped edema in my fingers and hand, a frozen wrist and shoulder, and the strength and ability of a wet noodle.  Here take a look so you can sort of visualize what I mean……

edemahandSorry bout the fuzziness, I took it with my left hand.  My knuckles are non exsistent and my fingers are so swollen that they were getting sores in between.  Just ignore all the dead, yucky skin that I hadn’t completely cleaned off, I think the hand and fingers peeled and shed 3 more times due to the edema.

I was given 2 weeks to try to work out some of the edema myself and get my fingers moving.  Not an easy task for a very impatient, bored, and on the verge of severe crankiness.  My hand did improve……

hand nowI wasn’t able to avoid Physical Therapy though.  The progress I would make every day would be null and void by morning. The puffiness and stiffness would return just to piss me off.  My first PT appointment is Monday (25th) and I am told I will not be in a great place when they are finished.  I really don’t want something unattainable, I just would like to sleep for more than 4 hours a night!  Not too much to ask is it?  There is constant pain in my wrist and hand, I think I could deal with that if my shoulder weren’t so painful.  The shooting pain and throbbing makes it impossible to get comfortable and sustain sleep.  Truthfully, it is a bitch to be over fifty and dealing with this!

So, I truly detest complainers and refuse to succumb to or lower myself to that level!  No matter what I do IT WILL HURT, so hell let’s get on with it!  Rehab Project Numero Uno, get back to crocheting!  I think it will help me psychologically as well as physically.

YarnToo funny!  It took me 2 hours to devise a way to get my bins out of the closet (by myself) , open and sort, then return to the closet.  STUBBORN, you got it.  I was in tears by the end, but damn it I did it.  The rest of the day was a wash, I was exhausted, LOL.  The next day I just played around with the hook and yarn, finding a way to accomplish my goal.

Come back and see what I have done so far………………… Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Rehab 101 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Exercise of Healing……

Leave a Reply

