Rehab 101

Seriously, healing is a load of work!  First, to my way of dealing with adversity, and most importantly is deciding to get better.  Unrealistic expectations need to be thrown out the window, find an attainable goal, get to work!    Frame of mind is a struggle when pain is your constant companion, but refusing to let it rule is empowering.  Knowing when to rest, now there I had to learn a new level of patience.  Patience with myself and allowing myself the luxury of resting to allow the healing I wanted.  Oh! don’t get me wrong, I had some crying fits but NO PITY PARTIES!  It helps when your loved ones take an active role in not allowing you to slide from frustration/pain tears to self pity tears.  There is not one ounce of cure in going that direction.

The direction I was headed was being dictated by the skeins of yarn I had laboriously retrieved from my work room.  As long as I don’t look further than this rehab project, I won’t get disheartened.  I will continue to work my fingers and wrist until I finish this afghan, no matter the time period.  All progress is positive.

Funny, but you know I love “Yo Yo Quilts/Projects”, well I found a yo yo afghan.  It was just meant to be.  The kick off point was to just make double crocheted yo yo’s.  The repetition should strengthen my fingers and hopefully loosen the frozen wrist.  My first day I was only able to get 2 made.  By the end of the week, I had a small nice pile.

yarnyoyos

Let’s see, I need 16 yo-yo’s per square, 20 squares to start, YEP I have a ways to go.  Oh but it feels so good…………………… Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Rehab 101 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

