Rehab – 101B

Being a Gardening Spectator is NOT for me!  I had 2 months of watching from the sidelines and it had to be one of the toughest forms of relaxation I ever experienced.  My yard and garden were definitely going through “Cyn” withdrawals.  I have to admit, reluctantly though, that I did try to do some weeding.  Due to my imbalance, I gave Steven a heart attack when I fell trying to get back up (no harm done, but he refused to let me try again).  Truth be told, I scared myself silly.  From then on, he placed me in a chair and made me watch and visit with him (Ugh).

Even though I couldn’t contribute, I did walk the yard everyday (with my spotter of course).  Just this little exercise of smelling my flowers, talking to the new blooms,  and admiring their beauty gave me so much peace.  Amazing how restorative the powers of a simple flower can be!  I must admit that the iris are particularly dowdy, alright ugly, this time of year.  The slender fan shaped greenery is turning brown at the edges and tips, they are heading into their own form of hibernation.  Pulling all the nutrients down into the rhizomes under ground to prepare for the winter sleep.  Truly, not their best time of year.  Just look at them……………..

irisbeforeI suggested to Steven when my cast came off, that I wanted to add cleaning up the iris to my rehab regime.  He agreed that once I could actually grip the scissors (LOL, he’s was only too right – wet noodle syndrome) I could do a little at a time.    I worked at being able to hold the scissors upright first, then I was motivated to really be able to work them one handed.

Holy Cow!  I forgot how fast the rest of my body had gotten weak over the 2 months of supporting a recliner.  Geesh, I didn’t make it very long.  By the end of the week, the iris around the pool were finally cleaned up.

irisafterWow, who new my legs were wet noodles too, LOL.  The first day I barely made it back into the house.  My dog, Chewbacca, was so excited I was outside he had to come back and find me to help me back into the house.  Now if only the yard work would translate into sleeping, hey that would be fantastic!

Alas, not yet.  But it is a start in the right direction……… Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Rehab 101 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

