Rehab 101 – The Cove…..

On June 5th I fractured my wrist.  On July 5th I finally got a cast.  On July 7th I went back to work with light duty.  Steven and I were supposed to be in MacArthur Burney Falls in Northeastern California with my brother, Chris and his wife Lorraine and his adult kids for the week of the July 4th holiday.  But no, we had to make the decision to stay home – truth be told the doctors said absolutely not!  I was still required to have x-rays once a week.

Just looking forward to that camping trip for a whole year sustained me when work became hectic and stressful.  To say I was disappointed to have to stay home was a huge understatement.  My brother and I hadn’t seen each other since the funeral for my Pop in January.  I was already on that teeter-totter of depression and fatigue, so this was a harsh pill to swallow.

My Steven surprised me that week with new “retro” patio seating!  I was still unsteady on my feet after living for a month in the recliner.  I had asked him to remove the chairs which lead to my accidental fall.  I had no confidence in them and eventually we gave them to Colleen for her back yard.  Steven placed the glider on the porch outside our bedroom.

backporch

That was about as far as I was confident in walking alone.  Fantastic man that he is, knew it would help to be able to go outside and see the yard every nite when he got home.  He had one more surprise up his sleeve for when I could walk (assisted of course, no one trusted me on my own, LOL)  to our cove (where I originally fell).

thecove2

He had also gotten the companion set for our “cove”.  The other chairs were gone and we usually sit out there every evening before we make dinner.  Enjoying the weather, a cocktail, and catching up on the days happenings.

thecove1

Once I finally had a cast on my arm and started back to work, that lounge chair was where Steven would plant me Saturday and Sunday’s after my shift.  He knew I couldn’t get back out of the chair by myself so I was safe.  Oh, he thought of everything, water, book, pillows for my cast and neck.  He also knew that I would be fast asleep before I even read 4 pages! LOL.

thecove3

Now, we are back to sitting in our “cove”.  Still enjoying the beautiful weather, nature, and of course the cocktail. Catching up every evening on the days events, work, and kids still has it’s healing ability.  Just this half hour to hour is simply amazing!  I advise everyone to stop and smell the roses, really listen to each other, and talk about/listen to what’s important.  It is so refreshing and as the summer winds down, the evenings get chilly, the daylight shorter we know what is important………………… each other!     Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Rehab 101 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rehab 101 – The Cove…..

  1. Theresa Boyle says:

    Love you princess, So glad you are back to you nightly cocktail in the cove.

Leave a Reply

