Rehab 101b – An Explosion of Yo-yo’s…..

Alrighty then, with Halloween under my belt, I don’t feel so awful about doing a Christmas project!  Heck, Christmas music is now being played at work and the grocery stores have the Christmas candy isle all set up.  So, now I am in earnest to finish my yo-yo garland for this years tree!

If you have never made a yo-yo, mores the pity LOL.  You start out with a circle twice the size you want the finished yo-yo to be.  I have a 3 and 1/4″ circle cut out of cardboard.  I use a sharpie and trace the cardboard on to my fabric.  You can use either side of the fabric because the marker will not be seen either way.

yoyomaking1Then with needle and thread, and wrong side of fabric facing you.  Fold over edge of fabric just enough to hide the cut edge…..

yoyostep2Now insert needle in the newly folded edge, just a smidgeon down from the fold.  Then come back up into the folded edge maybe a 1/2″ away.  Weave like this all the way around.

yoyostep3yoyostep4Now turn it right side out and pull the thread…..

yoyostep5Now all you need to do is secure your gathering with a knot and WhaLaa you have a yo-yo!

I have sewn sooooooo mannnny that I am cross eyed, he he he.  Now the fun part starts.

yoyoaccessoriesAdd some metallic beads, hemp string, and hooks and eyes I am set to begin stringing my yo-yo’s.  There isn’t any rhyme or reason to the pattern, just play around with the colors you choose and the pattern will reveal itself.

yoyogarlandcloseupI must admit I am not crazy about the buttons, they have added too much weight.  So they will be removed, all in all I love it and am going to run with it.stringofyoyosTah dah.  I added in a larger yo-yo sporadically also.  This will take me a while, that is for sure.  I work at it until my hand cramps, then save it for the next day.  Makes me look forward to decorating my tree!  My son, Shamus, said I couldn’t be a “Bah Humbugger” this year!  I guess when I went to work I was too tired to enjoy the holiday season last year.  So, I am making a concerted effort to make jolly this year.

Give it a try……….. or twist my idea into your own…………… Cyn

 

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Fabric crafting, Holiday, Rehab 101 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

