Rehab 101a – Yo-yo’s everywhere…..

Progress is slow right now, I have too many irons in the fire, too many ideas competing for recognition.  Oh, hell!  What’s new!  I am thrilled to have that feeling again and to be able to act on it.  I’ve come to realize that needlework is just part of my breathing, I need it to survive.  The ceramics, not so much.  So, my goal to hold a paint brush has taken a back burner to being completely efficient with my needles.  I am half way there and really working hard at not becoming discouraged.  Every day, Steven reminds me it has only been 3 months of physical therapy.  So, I have 9 months to go, they said it could take up to a year before I regain all the use of my hand and shoulder.  My mantra now is “Patience, Persistence, and Perspective”.

The crocheting has been a life line!  I needed to be busy with my hands (thanks to the cast I have stopped chewing my fingernails!) sitting idol was depressing me.  I showed you the afghan I had started.  I only had 4 squares done.  Wow, this is how I measure my rehab.  I now have 2 rows completed and assembled, that is 12 squares!  Here take a look……

2rowsofafghanI decided to use the blue as the assembling color and it will be the edging too.   It is very pretty.  I have 4 more rows of 6 to go.  This time I will make an adult afghan for the Linus Project, we seem to have a grave need for this size lately.  Even if it takes me a year to complete, I will be so proud and thankful to be able to hold that crochet hook and contribute to the cause.

So, if any of you are dealing with adversity remember the 3 P’s of my mantra, “Patience, Persistence, and Perspective”.  My Pop used to say, “It always works out as it is supposed to”.  He is right as usual….. Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Needlecrafting, Rehab 101 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rehab 101a – Yo-yo’s everywhere…..

  1. Chris Boyle says:

    I gotta get me some physical therapy! Looks great Cyn, and you “sound” like you’re healing. Love ya!

Leave a Reply

