Building Blocks…..

Oh, I am so stoked!  I actually could hold a brush!  Not just hold it, but manipulate it!  Holy Cow, my prayers are being answered.  In increments yes, but oh boy am I blessed!  Base coating the canister bases held no problems for my hand/wrist.  I have found when trying to cover that large of an area, it takes a boat load of coats to achieve opaqueness.   The colors are of a holiday nature of course, it tis for the season after all.  Step one was complete.

On to step two.  So, I was feeling a little cocky after the ease of base coating.   Now we’ll see how I handle a smaller brush.  I traced the simple design on to each front of each canister.  Got my white acrylic paint out and held my breath.  Literally, LOL.  Pleasantly surprised, not so bad.  I’m thinkin’, keep calm, you are only blocking in color.  Don’t get too excited.  Well, 5 coats each canister and wowser! I was feeling the cramping and stiffening of my knuckles.  Heck though, I had done it.

blocksbasecoated

Not a bad start, if I do say so myself.  The next afternoon, with my wrist and fingers warmed up from my morning job, I set to detailing out my “Blocks”.

finishedblocks2

Puff paints are my best friend right now.  They helped me do what would have taken days to accomplish.   I also have the help of my heated fan, a remnant from our ceramic shop days.  It dried one block while I was painting another block.

finishedblocks1finishedblocks3

I think this will look smashing on my Mom’s raffle table!  With a little bit of pine greenery from her trees and a few ornaments or pinecones………………. Awesome!

Well, did you figure out where I was going?  I got my “light bulb” moment staring at the Give Thanks I painted last year for my mantel.  Now, onto the next group of ceramic pieces.  I feel a theme coming……………………. Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Ceramics, Custom, Holiday, Painted fun and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

