Tin Challenge

My husband says it time for me to get back to work, lol.  It has now been a year since I fractured my wrist.  A little less dexterity, some weakness, and good range of motion, I now know the limitations of said wrist.  I quite agree it is time to move on.  It has been 5 months since I last posted, the new year dealt me some setbacks.  But, time always has a way of working these things out …….. Sometimes not in ways you expected……

In January of 2014, I posted about the finished wreath that was made from old canning jar rims.  I can’t remember who sent me a picture, but it was of these wonderful gourds fashioned from none other than said old canning jar rims.  The gourds so intrigued me.  Just the style of recycle, reuse, re-purpose that I love to play around with.  The Tin Challenge had been accepted, I wanted to see how difficult it was to duplicate them.  As I had left a batch of rims outside to rust, it was a happy meeting of minds.

Here it is……

canningrimgourd

canningrimgourd2

This whole process took 5 minutes to assemble.  Wire to hold them all together, who knew it was so simple!  It took 6 months of rain and yucky weather to rust up the rims, lol.  The gourd top is real, I saved quite a few of them while canning the fairy squash from the garden a few years ago.  A nice finish to this tin challenge.

Now if only I had more rim rusted out, I could have made a few more.  Didn’t quite plan that right………….. Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Trash to Treasure and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tin Challenge

  1. Theresa Boyle says:

    I love will look for yucky rings for you

Leave a Reply

