Long over due…..

This project has been hanging over my head for over a year!  Yes, I am talking about the mosaic bench I started for myself in February 2014.  I had all the pieces in place, ready to get to the meat of the project, when I fell last June.  The bench has been sitting, waiting for me to pay some attention to it.  My poor garden bench was struggling with feeling of neglect and worrying that I would never look its way again!  How over joyed and elated it was when I was finally strong enough to wield that hammer and start to break my tiles into mosaic pieces.  This is well and truly the best part, the fun is just beginning.

gardenbenchlayedout

Here is where I had to leave it, poor thing just aching to be surrounded with glorious color.

mosaicbench1

Can you hear it singing? giggling with relief? shouting with joy?

mosaicbench2

mosaicbench3

All the pieces are in place, not too different than the original layout.

mosaicbenchdone

Grouting is complete!  My lovely garden bench now is in it’s place of honor.  Not a soul can walk past now without exclaiming over its beauty!  Just as it should be, of course.  Oh, and if you are wondering…………….. Hell yeah, I am keeping this one for me!

There is already another design (or 2) well underway  (in my “little grey cells”, as Hercule Poirot would say) , I just can’t help it………… Sorry!  Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Ceramics, Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Long over due…..

  1. Really beautiful. I hear it singing!

  2. Chris Boyle says:

    It’s beautiful Cyn. Just beautiful. We are super glad the hand is getting better.

Leave a Reply

