Creature comforts……

Gosh, it must be 7 years ago, I made Steven stop and pick up 2 very miserable looking metal chairs.  They had been abandoned on the side of the road.  Poor things had been in a fire, the plastic webbing was still melted on to parts of the frames.  They were sooty, black, and desperate looking.  These poor chairs called out to me, my very patient husband stopped for me to load them into the truck.  I told those pathetic chairs they were going to be beautiful one day soon.

I did refinish them.  Sanded, repainted, and gave them a webbed seat.  But, the weather hasn’t been kind to them over the last 6 years.  The sun has made the webbing brittle, I have been afraid to sit in them for fear of the webbing giving way.  The chairs also weren’t comfortable ( I will lie if you tell my chairs that).  The backs were metal, but very open and it was hard to find a good spot to rest for a while.  Here take a look……

Before

See what I mean, not enough support for your back.  Well, I just finished re-webbing the seat yesterday.  Still, I knew visitors would avoid resting in them.  So, as it was my day off and I could do anything I felt like, I resolved to make my old friends more welcoming in hopes they would be more enticing to visitors!

newwebbing

Step one, done, new webbing.  I visited my fabric closet, there just had to be something that would complement the webbing.  My closet didn’t let me down, I found some birdhouse themed fabric.  Also wasting away in the back of the closet was an old pillow form, probably from a decorative pillow of bygone days when the girls still lived at home.  See! I was making so many forgotten items feel useful.  HhHaa, I told my Mom these things would come into use some day.  Course, she will remind me of how long the girls have been out on their own, lol.

I took my forgotten treasures out to the sewing machine and went to work.  Gosh it felt good to have a fun distraction!  With in a very short time, I had solved my problem.

webbedchairfinished

I can hear the applause…… oh stop please……. Okay, the chair deserves it.  I took my leisure reading for an hour or so and let me tell you, my chair sighed with contentment!  Unfortunately, it’s partner was none too pleased that I only worked on one of them.  All in good time………… Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

