Surprise…..

Disney-itis, it may not be a real word but many people suffer from it! lol   Disney mania is alive and well in my family.  Quite frankly, it is growing rapidly now that our grandchildren have joined in the madness.

Our son, Shamus, was given a stuffed Mickey Mouse when he was a baby.  The two of them were inseparable, the two of them did everything together.  It was a match made in heaven.  Shamus was never afraid of the dark, or worried about being alone at night, he always had someone to talk to, Mickey helped him tackle and conquer everything!  We always remembered to make room for Mickey in the car (Michael J and Gordon too, his imaginary friends) too.  Amazingly enough Mickey became a first class camper too!

My favorite memory of Shamus and Mickey was when Shamus was around 3 years old.  We had gone camping for a long weekend and didn’t realize that Mickey forgot to climb in the car to come home.  Oh my goodness!  Shamus was beside himself with worry, unconsolable, and extremely lonely.  We had to make an emergency trip to San Francisco’s Pier 39 Disney store.  It was the closest location we could find to search for Mickey.  The internet hadn’t materialized yet, Disneyland was in Los Angeles, and if memory serves Disney items could still only be bought in Disneyland.  This was a desperate attempt to find Shamus’ Mickey!

Steven couldn’t make the trip with me, but my parents certainly did.  My Pop kept Shamus busy on our trip into the city.  While my Mom helped me with the girls on our ride across the bay on the ferry.  Let me tell you, Shamus was so lost with out his best friend.  We arrived in plenty of time to walk from the ferry terminal to Pier 39, as to be there when the store opened.  I was so concerned that he wouldn’t find “his” Mickey, as he put it.

Pop was pushing the stroller with Shamus in it, the rest of us followed them in.  There in the middle of the store was a mountain of Mickey’s!  He was still the king, as the mania for Disney merchandise hadn’t taken place yet.  Pop pushed Shamus up to the mountain and my little man made a huge sigh and said, “Oh Mickey there you are!  Where have you been”.   I don’t think he even saw that there were hundreds of the same Mickey Mouse, he only had eyes for “one”.  Pop let him out of the seat and he walked right up to “his” Mickey and picked him up.  He gave him a huge hug and all was right in the world again.  My parents and I were truly touched, choked up, and awed by this reunion, we have never forgotten how strong a bond these two friends have had all these years.

This relationship continues to this day, Shamus is now 27 years old and Mickey is 24 years old.  Mickey still lives with him and we have saved all of Mickey’s collection of bedroom accessories, blankets, old clothes, etc. for later use.

I should have known that my son would find his mate with a match made in Disney!  They met a little over a year ago and I think I can say that they compliment each other so wonderfully!  She has the Disney bug worse than he does, Lol.  Shamus came to me and asked if I would consider making her a mosaic bench with a Disney theme.  He wanted to give it as a gift for their 1st anniversary.  Of course I said yes.  Knowing that if I didn’t make any money off the deal, there wouldn’t be any copy write problems I went to work.

With quite a bit of extensive research for this job under my belt, I talked to Shamus about a layout.  We decided to paint the bench a sky blue to extend the sky of the tiling.

disneybench2

I thought it would be easier to put the characters on balloons with the castle in the background.  I made a change and decided to cut out Mickey and Minnie head balloons.   Then cut them in, in front of the castle.

disneybench3

The strategic planning was finished, now to paint them.  The faith my kids have in me is humbling, to say the least and a challenge to say the most!  Here it goes…..Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Ceramics, Custom, Memories, Painted fun and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

