My weather guru……

The season of Gravenstein Apples is here and very short.  Sebastopol, California used to have roaming hills of these apple orchards everywhere.  It was gorgeous during the blossoming season.  Now, we have grape vines everywhere those orchards were, very sad and the heat factor is off the charts.  I miss those orchards very much.  Partly due to spending my childhood playing in the orchards that surrounded our house, eating those apples fresh off the tree and the other part is I am sick of grape vines (they are only pretty in the fall).

This last weekend we bought our lug of grav’s.  They are the only apples to make applesauce with, bar none!  Last year we had to skip the canning season, as you know, when you are right handed and in a cast not much you can do.  So, I was so excited to get back to canning and preserving.  There is nothing like the satisfaction you get from being able to see your mornings work all lined up on the counter cooling.

But, wouldn’t you know, since then we have had super hot weather and our wonderful foggy mornings had been absent.  I kept praying for a long foggy morning on Tuesday, my only day off this week!  In Sonoma County we are blessed with cool, foggy mornings until about 10 to 11 am.  It is heaven on earth!  I can get up early and be done canning before the sun breaks through to heat up the day.  I was beginning to worry, my day off was just a few days away and this heat seemed to be here for the duration.

As I have confessed before, I talk to my animals constantly.  I can easily admit also that I talk, pray, chew off the ear or visit (you choose) with my departed Grandparents regularly.  Oh, my Grandma Boyle was the go-to-gal for weather problems!  She is the weather guru. She came through so many times it is amazing!  I remember that Steven and I were set to get married in August and we were experiencing an August from hell.  We were having a garden reception at my parents house and the temperature was off the charts.  We started pestering Grandma Boyle with requests for a damp foggy morning, cool breezes in the afternoon, nothing over 85 degrees, please!!!!!!  The morning dawned, by golly, it was foggy, cool, and perfect!  She came through and we had an awesome day.

Well, with that kinda track record, Grandma would come through for me on my day off, I knew it.  I prepped the kitchen on Monday nite, Grandma was feeling the pressure to be sure.  My jars were ready to be loaded in the dishwasher, apples were on the table, all the equipment I needed was at hand, I was set to go.  I knew she had this covered, no sweat.

I get up before it is light, get the dishwasher emptied and reloaded with jars, get my canner filled with water, set up the kitchen just the way I like it, and I am ready to get started.  Coffee in hand, I confidently stride to look out the window as it becomes lighter outside.  Fog, beautiful fog!  I told ya she would come through.  I think she has had some help this time, because my whole being is filled with memories of my Pop.  Pop loved home canned goodies, applesauce, watermelon pickles, apple butter jam, well let be truthful any flavor of jam, Lol.  Pop was here too and joined his mom to give me a perfect morning to get the apples processed!  The sun was just breaking through as I finished up the last canner load and was cleaning the kitchen up.

applesauce

Applesauce on the right, applebutter jam on the left cooling as I went off to hang out laundry.

My weather guru, she is owed some time off now, lol  I don’t know what I dragged her away from doing, but she answered my prayers and then some!  Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Canning, Memories and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

