A reason to crochet……

While I was in Ireland with my Mom in May, I was able to meet some of my Pop’s cousins in Dublin.  Of the 5 that came to see my Mom, 2 of them (Olive & Margaret) were my daughter’s ages.  They were kind enough to take me to tour the Guinness Storehouse.

passingguiness

I can understand why it was just voted the ” Best Tourist Attraction in Europe”.  The seven story tour is amazing!  Interactive and visually amazing.

Insideguinness

guinesscarving

This stunning hand carved wood sculpture was simply gorgeous!  The girls were so kind, keeping up conversation, adding lots of local color to the information I was absorbing.  I was so in awe and excited (as well as jet lagged), so nervous and overwhelmed that I tend to get very quiet. You might know what I mean.  The place was packed, but due to the interactive, fun, and historical exhibits you really didn’t feel it until the seventh floor.

7thfloorviewguiness

 This floor has 360º view of Dublin, it is also a bar.   Included in your admission is a pint of Guinness and your served on this floor.  Thankfully, I am tall, so I was able to find one small opening in the crowd to snap a picture.  The girls weren’t drinking, Olive is an officer in the Garda and had to drive home and Margaret was driving me around.  So, I did my best not to disappoint or waste the Guinness!  Needless to say, I was feeling no pain when we left.  

It was a great afternoon for me and I won’t be forgetting their kindness anytime soon!  We became Facebook friends when I returned home too.  Recently, Olive posted that she was pregnant with her first child!  I immediately went to work on a baby blanket to send off to Ireland.  It has been fun to see pictures as her baby bump grows, she is just glowing and beautifully happy.

I finished the blanket……

olivebabyblanket

Just have to get my card finished and send it off to Margaret to sneak into the packages at her shower.  It was so much more fun to crochet knowing who was going to be receiving the blanket.  Boy, I love a good reason to crochet!  Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Memories, Needlecrafting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

