In Me Jaunting Car, me jaunting car………

Are you still enchanted and have fond memories of movies you watched as a kid?  Oh boy, I sure am.  Not movies on the television, in the theatre!  For me, television was still black and white, with 5 major channels maybe to choose from, and really only watched in the evening.  We were still outside playing in the neighborhood until dinner was called.  It was a treat to watch the Wonderful World of Disney, oh and my favorites were the Rankin/Bass Productions of Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer, Santa Claus is Coming to Town, Frosty the Snowman, and The Little Drummer Boy we got to watch every Christmas!  Now that was something to look forward to.

In the summer month, each of my siblings and I got to spend a week with my Grandma Boyle!  She would with out fail take us to a movie while we were visiting!  Those were the best times, a whole day out on the town running errands, visiting my Uncle Chet at his store, and a movie before we went back to her house.  I looked forward to spending that time with her.

As you can tell, movies were a wonderful escape, a chance to take an adventure, and magical.  You couldn’t see them on a television screen, or rent them.  They only played in the movie house.  Our theaters were not multi-plex buildings, no they were glorious, huge, draped walled, comfy chairs and special!  One big spacious room, with only One movie playing at a time and it could stay for a month or more before a new one came in.

The reason I got to thinking about this is because I had such a wonderful childhood, we had fun, and I don’t think we ever took anything for granted.  I think that movies were so special because going to see one was a special treat, not a weekly occurrence.  We would relive these movies by buying the soundtrack on record and singing along.  Such great memories!  There are times when just a random phrase will send me right back to a childhood movie and I will hear the music and smile.

This exact thing happened in Ireland this summer.  We were in Kilkenny, the forecast was calling for more showers, and on our itinerary was a ride in the “Jaunting Cars”.   Well, let me tell you I heard the intro to the song and had to stop myself from launching into my favorite song from “The Gnome Mobile”, “In Me Jaunting Car”.  I can still hear Walter Brennan singing and honking the horn to the tune.

jauntingcars

Here is the original “Jaunting Car”, horse drawn with blankets to keep you warm.

jauntingcarhorse

There you go, poor Mom, I wanted to sit in the front seat.  We had a blanket, but were still drenched from the wind and rain!  A fantastic day to my mind, I love having the wind in my face and the smell of all that fresh rain.  A hot tub cures all that ails, lol.  Oh! and an Irish Coffee too.

We shall see what new adventure triggers an older memory and a burst of song……. Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Memories, Traveling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

