Jartastic!….

I hate to do this to you all!  It is a quite a bit early for this holiday to be mentioned, sorry.  I had to get a head start though, so I could enjoy this leading up to “Christmas”.  Ooooooh, it has become such a dirty word to utter before Halloween is over.  Heck, at work I have been merchandising Christmas items for a few months now, lol.  I definitely am one of the groaners when said holiday is pushed earlier and earlier.

After starting this canning jar lid project years ago, I had Halloween, Thanksgiving, Easter, and St. Pat’s Day covered.   Hadn’t quite been inspired for a Christmas themed lid.  Well, until recently.  (I won’t bore you with the prep for these lids, you can see them if you go back a ways.)  Actually, I was getting a craft item out of the closet and came face to face with the Easter Bunny lid.  The fabric ears gave me an idea for my Christmas lid.  You’ll recognize where I am going when you see the colors I started with…..

reindeerjarlids1

Then, I got to work on the appendages…..

reindeeraccessories

As I finished the face and started to attach the antlers and ears, I changed it up.  The antlers weren’t showing up, brown on brown, terrible choice.  Who chose that combo? lol  Reindeerlid2

He still wasn’t complete, something was missing.  It came to me quickly and I remedied the problem.

Reindeerlid3

The glue is still wet, but that finished it for me.  My Reindeer lid was ready to take his place of honor on the mantel for his holiday visit.

Oh, I did promise him that he wouldn’t have to protect any candy corn’s, I would definitely find a more appropriate treat for him to watch over….. Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Ceramics, Custom, Painted fun and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

