Remember when……

Oh, I love how creative people take an old treasure and renew it with a fresh new look.  This whole transformation really appeals to my recycle, reduce, renew, and now refresh mission I find myself on frequently.  It depresses me that kids these days really don’t know how to entertain themselves without electronics!  Reading! that’s only for school work, my grandchildren tell me.  Oh, you are so missing out on the best adventures! I tell them.  Nah, they can watch a movie instead, they insist.  This saddens me so much.

I find it very disheartening that my grandkids need to be entertained, they really don’t know how to entertain themselves.  Oh, getting into trouble is not a problem, kids will always know how to do that.  No, I am talking about pretending, creating an imaginary world to play in.  My sister and I used to play with our dolls, later barbies, not just for an hour but for the whole day.  We had a ball, I don’t ever remember being bored.  There were just too many adventures to take throughout the day.  My brother would spend free time with his match box cars, making a town in the back yard.  He too could entertain himself for the day.

Do you remember paper dolls?  I had an “Archie” set.

il_570xN.281665738

They were so much fun for me.  My mom even found old wall paper books that I created new clothes for them with.  You know, that could have been the beginning of my love for arts n crafts.  Those were the days, I remember them fondly.

Well, I was thumbing through a Herrschners Needlecraft catalog and came across paper dolls!  New and improved paper dolls.  These dolls were needlepointed and 20″ tall.

paperdolls

I just had to make a set for myself.  There aren’t any little girls right now I can give them too.  But, when I do find the right little girl, I will be ready!  The funniest things that fire my imagination, our memories are so strongly imprinted on us.  Of course, I am already thinking of new clothes to create, lol.  First though, I have to make the dolls and learn more about the process before I can design my first ball gown.

My first doll is underway………… Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Memories, Needlecrafting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

