Awwe Grandma……

How can you resist?  Awe Grandma, could you please……..  .  Well, it is extremely hard, let me tell you!

Being a needlecraft enthusiast, I am always working on several needlework projects.  Cross stitching and crocheting are my personal favorites.  Over the years, I have cross stitched 6 Christmas stockings for my family.  It usually takes about a year to complete one.  The bulk of the work was always done on our camping vacations.  I would sit and cross stitch, while the kids were playing in the water all day.

My grandson, Donovan, is the only member of his family that doesn’t have a Grandma/Mom stitched stocking.  It is not that I haven’t wanted to do one, it is that we couldn’t find a pattern that he approved.  He is nine now and we have been looking for a “train” pattern for ever.  While I was laid up with my broken wrist, I came across two patterns for Donovan to choose from.  Donovan chose the Stoney Creek pattern.

trainstockingmag

He was so excited to finally have a stocking for himself!  Problem was, I couldn’t get started, I am right-handed and I broke my right wrist.  So, as soon as I finished my rehab and some projects that were half way done when I fell, I promised I would get to work.

In July, I finally got this puppy going!  Every time Donovan stops, he has been checking my progress, lol.

trainstockingprogress

Here we go, almost 4 months of work and I am a third of the way done.  It has now become my mission to get this done before Christmas Eve.  Every free minute I have has been spent stitching.  Steven’s not sure if there is enough time.  As November approaches, I get closer to working full-time hours till January.

I tell yah though, I can see the hope and excitement in Donovan’s face as I make his train come to life!  The race is on……… Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Holiday, Needlecrafting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Awwe Grandma……

  1. Theresa Boyle says:

    Cyn,
    Knowing you will stay up nights to have Donovan’s train done. It is going to be stunning and his smile will be worth all your effort. How lucky those two are to have a Grandma like you.

  2. Theresa says:

    Good luck with the deadline

Leave a Reply

