Oh, Bother…..

I exasperate even myself, Yes it is true!  Steven says that there are at least 4 different “Cyn’s” residing in his household, lol.  I wouldn’t even dare to contradict him.  Why?, you might ask.  Simple, because I find myself of 3 minds just this morning.  One, I know I have to keep cross stitching; Two, I am excited that the rain this week knocked all the leaves down and I want to get them raked up; Three, this cool weather gets me in the mood to bake.  But, because I can’t seem to decide, I instead end up doing the one chore I hate.  Scrubbing my kitchen cabinet!  Don’t ask me how that happened, I think part of my Mom does reside in there and she hijacked one of me to do her bidding, LOL.

All laughing aside, it did help me.  I was able to quiet all those distracting “Cyn’s” while scrubbing those cabinets!  Who knew that those lousy household jobs had a purpose!  It is funny how it didn’t stop there.  I continued to wash the floor, wash the window, and clean the refrigerator.  Whew, at least I wasn’t compelled to clean the bathrooms again, he he he.

The Grandma in me is now in control, back to stitching that stocking.  There is one bit of advise I would give any beginner/new comer to cross stitching.  Always, with out fail, outline your design as you go!  I remember the first stocking I made.  I cross stitched the whole project and then went back to detail and outline the pattern.  Big mistake!  by that time I was so tired of the project, thought I was done, and had trouble distinguishing some of the colors from one another.  A nightmare that never seemed to end.

So now, I do all the detailing as I finish an area.  I can see the design better, the colors are fresh in my mind.  Most especially, I am really truly finished when I reach the end!

Well, off to make some progress.  I am itching to start something new…… Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Needlecrafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

