Cutting it Close…..

Well, some things were not accomplished this season and some things were.  Sadly, the baking marathon that I usually undertake a week or so before Christmas, had to be eliminated from my itinerary.  Decking the Halls, check.  My kids gave me such a bad time last year about the sad state of the decorations that Steven and I made an extra effort to dress up the house.  Our Gingerbread house making party also had to waived in favor of time saving.  Why you ask did I have such a time crunch?

I had to finished my grandson’s Christmas stocking!  To Steven’s disbelief, I did it!  Hot damn, it took all of my will power to keep stitching at every opportunity.  I was sooooo ready to move on to a new project!  As the finish line came closer, I got a last burst of energy and sat there till it was done.

bottomhalfstocking

The date stamp tells the truth, I still had 13 days to sew it all together!

tophalfstocking

Well, technically speaking I had only 12 days to finish this stocking.  My grandson tells me it had to be in place by Christmas Eve or santa wouldn’t be able to find him.

finishedstocking

The suspense was killing me, so was the attention span I needed to finish.  I gave the stocking to my daughter Maureen to surprise Donovan with.  I still had 9 Days to spare even!  I was glad I finished when I did, cause I then proceeded to work almost all those 9 days with just enough time to sleep in between!  Donovan loves it, so it was so worth the effort!  I am back on the Good Grandma List, well for a little while anyway, lol

I thought I was finished with Christmas Stockings…… but no, my son, Shamus asked me to make one for his fiance for next Christmas.

Yikes…….. Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Fabric crafting, Family, Holiday, Needlecrafting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cutting it Close…..

  1. Sabrina says:

    That stocking looks amazing!

  2. Theresa says:

    Wow, that’s a lot of work! I didn’t think you had a snowball’s chance in getting it finished. Congratulations!

  3. Frank says:

    I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

