Time Flies…..

Holy Flying Cows!  Time has really gotten away from me.  Seems as if every minute of the day has a corresponding job/task to perform.  I was determined not to look too far ahead, it was just too overwhelming and depressing.  Just tackle the task at hand, is what I keep telling myself.  It works, my goodness it’s May already!

Being an early riser, I begin my day at 5 am most days, 3:30 am on the days I go into work.  I just love this time, 5 to 8am ish!  There is no one else up in the house, I get the coffee all to myself, and the silence is truly amazingly healing.  I must admit, otherwise I’ll hear from the peanut gallery, that it is also ATP Tennis and Tour De France time in Europe and everything seems to start around 5 am pacific time.  Just an extra bonus when Rafa is playing or the race is in progress!

Curling up in my chair with my constant companion “Hendricks”, a black and white adorable, somewhere around 13 year old cat, with coffee close at hand we start the day together.  The only thing Hendricks requires is the time to “tenderize” my lap before he settles in for a good sleep.  I require my latest crochet or stitching project when there is a sporting event on or a good book to read.  Heaven!

hendricks

My Mom came in to visit, sheesh that was almost 3 weeks ago, yikes!  She brought us a wheelchair for my mother-in-law to use, it had been my Grandma’s and Mom had held on to it.  While she was visiting I started a new afghan while we caught up on “The Murdoch Mysteries”, season 7 had been released!  It is a new twist to the afghan I am making for our guest room (actually it’s Mom’s Room).  The woven squares.  This one is braided.

beginningbraid

To start, just one long single row of double crocheting.  This was gonna be a challenge for my attentions span, lol.

braidsdone

Braiding them came next.  Once I finish the orange and red ones we will see how they turn into an afghan.  Intriguing to say the least.  The white yarn is waiting patiently to help assemble this mass of colorful braids.  I really like this pattern too, it has gone together faster than I had anticipated.  The fun part is yet to come!

Keep an eye out for the finished look, till next time Cyn

 

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Needlecrafting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

