What a rind!…..

Finding the right rind is so difficult sometimes!  I mean a watermelon rind, by the by.  I was beginning to worry that I wouldn’t find one thick enough this year either.  What would someone want with thick watermelon rind? you probably are asking yourself.  Pickles, of course!  Unfortunately, it can’t be just any rind.  It needs to be thick, I am talking about the section of rind that is still white, not pink.  Fortunately, I only need to find one every 4 to 5 years.  The one batch of watermelon pickles makes 5 to 6 pints and we only eat them at Thanksgiving and Christmas.  This was my year to hopefully get them made so I don’t run out.

wmelon1

The skin is shaved off and then all the pink flesh has to be removed.  This is a great rind!  We had finally finished the watermelon and I knew the rind wouldn’t last long in the refrigerator.  Steven pitched in and helped me get the rind prepared and into 1″ chunks so we could let the rind soak in the salt water over night (6-7 hours).

I was praying for a long cool morning.  Got started at 5am, rinsing and simmering them in a spiced infused vinegar.  Oh, how I love the scent of cloves!  My personal angel, my Pop, must have been checking in on me this morning, we had fog till 9am!  I was able to finish them up and still keep the house cool for the afternoon heat.  These pickles were my Pop’s favorite and my own children love them as well.

watermelonpickles

Perfection!  We are set for another 4-5 years, then the hunt begins again….. Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Canning, Food Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What a rind!…..

  1. mattyfrueh says:

    Okay, now I do a lot of canning but have never done these. What do they taste like? I would love to add this staple to the pantry, but have never had the nerve. It looks awesome though, so any input would be appreciated.

    • designbycyn says:

      So glad you enjoyed. The pickles taste of cloves and nutmeg, sweet too. They are relatively easy to make, just waiting time required. I use the Ball Canning recipe, works like a charm every time! If you can’t find it, I will send you a copy. Oh, the house smells so lovely while they are simmering in the spices! Have fun!

Leave a Reply

