Go ahead try it…..

I dare you to try to kill a butterfly bush!  I have just finished pruning 3 of our 7 butterfly bushes.  I pretty much take them down to nubs, they are buck naked when I am done.  The whole time I am cajoling them and apologizing for the haircut and trim.  The first time I suffered through this process, and suffer I did.  I was sure I had just tortured and killed one of my favorite plants, lol.

Steven kept assuring me they would be perfectly fine, I had my doubts.  I probably drowned the poor thing making sure it never got thirsty while it was gathering its strength to push out new shoots.  I was out everyday giving them a pep talk and letting them know I was here for them.  No pressure really, I just wanted to see some green action.  I think they were enjoying the attention, lol that butterfly just wanted to see me sweat!

Here, take a look at how drastically they are pruned…..

prunedbutterfly1

This yellow one, don’t let it know but it is not my favorite. Shhhh, the blooms are very unimpressive. We planted a Hemp Tree to the right of it and as it grows the yellow will slowly disappear.  Planticide, I know I am terrible, the guilt is already getting to me……

prunedbutterfly2

But see, this is the sister of yellow.  Steven stuck a branch in the rotted out center of the eucalyptus and boy did she like it.  She still needs a little more manicuring, which Steven gets to do when he gets home.  Seriously, speaking of haircuts, this is a butch job huh?

Okay, so after I have cajoled and pleaded, sweated and apologized repeatedly, my butterfly bush finally is satisfied that I have learned my lesson!  It starts out with just a few shoots, doesn’t want me to get too excited or cocky.   I continue to compliment and encourage daily.  Oh yeah, this is just what they wanted.  I am into my 3rd week of graveling when I come home from work and behold…….

recoveringbutterfly

How resilient these beauties are!  I refuse to let them know I am on to their game, lol.  The price I pay is so worth the effort.  In a week or so they will be in full bloom again.  This is one of the many reasons I absolutely love to be outside in my garden.  It is a love affair that never disappoints, tires, or takes for granted.  We rub along together giving and taking in equal measures, perfectly content with each other.

So get out those shears and give your butterfly a haircut!  It will thank you later….. Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Gardening, journeys and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

