Decision made…..

Holy Moly, this was a excruciating decision, but the deed is done now.  No going back.  I realized what had been bothering me about the composition of the wedding guest board.  I stared at it for a long time after I blocked in the first coat of paint.  The problem was that there were only 2 lines.  There needed to be 3 lines for it to have some balance.  Once I had ferreted out the imbalance, I knew exactly what I needed/wanted to do.

There is a common thread that runs through my niece and my own jewelry choices.  Celtic Knots!  I have never seen her without one of her Knot Necklaces in place decorating her neckline.  In that regard, I commend her fantastic sense of style!  So, I used that as my inspiration for the missing line.

Celtic knots are a form of sacred geometry that symbolize the interconnectedness of all things. They represent the eternal web and the continuous cycling of existence.  I can not think of a better description of what marriage means to a couple.  The interconnectedness that will become even stronger after, they pardon my pun, “tie the knot” in November.  So, with her parting “Surprise me” message in mind, I did just that.

img_3436

It’s a done job, no going back now.  Still wasn’t happy yet.  Back to work…..

img_3438

The detailing of the knot made it much lovelier.  I decided to just detail the first letter of each of their names and to leave it at that.  I have sent Caitlin this photo to see if she wants any alterations.  I can hear the “Jeopardy” music playing in my head as I hit send.

This was another of my “rehab” tests.  I have lost the ability to grip the brush for fine line work and was so worried this would be a huge disaster!  With faith and a whole bunch of bravado, I think I might have pulled this one off.  The only item left undone is the decision of how to hang or frame this when it is completed.  I think they can handle that chore.

Hopefully, I can show you a picture of it with all the guests signatures and salutations.   One more item off the to-do list and on to the next….. Cyn

 

 

 

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Custom, DIYing, Inspirational, Wood crafts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Decision made…..

  1. Chris says:

    It’s beautiful Cyn!

Leave a Reply

