Feeling the season…..

Oh, I don’t know how long ago, I showed you how to make quilted round ornaments.  They are a fun and relaxing way to spend free time.  Oh, especially when college football, pro football, or a baseball game are constantly at the ready to view this time of year.

Colleen and I took a break the day after the bridal shower.  We both needed some quiet time.  We pulled a table in by the television, pulled 2 Disney movies out to view (the football game hadn’t started yet and the baseball game was over), and made sure some snack were at hand.  I grabbed my ever ready box of supplies and we got right to it.

This time around we decided to finally do our first tree.  I have always wanted to make a few of them for my birds to sit with all winter long.   As long as I don’t add ornaments to them, they really could stay out for a longer period of time.

Here is our jump off point…..

styrotree1

You can probably guess that I decided to do a traditional green tree first.  If I like it, then I think a silver, gold, and red ones will follow.  Can you hear Sam the Snowman singing “Silver and Gold, silver and gold…….”?  Oh boy, Colleen and I started singing immediately when one of us mentioned a silver and gold tree would be great next time.  But, I digress.

stryrotree2

I decided to try placing the fabric in the same fashion I did on my ornaments.  Familiarity would then lead into branching out and trying a new pattern.

styrotree3

I am so stoked by how our first tree turned out!  This process start to finish took us 2 movies with no breaks, lol.  Trimming the bottom with ribbon hid the seams of the fabric perfectly.  There was just one more item I needed to add, but I needed Steven for this one.

img_0156

A trunk! of course.  Now the inaugural tree was complete!  I think this was the smallest of the trio of tree styrofoam forms.  So, now to gather silver scraps of material to build my second tree with….. Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Fabric crafting, Holiday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

