Full of memories…..

Everyone has things that they can’t live without.  These days it seems that they are all electronic, lol.  Heaven forbid you lose your phone, most of the adults I know have their life on those phones.  What is the first thing you would grab or mourn heavily if it were lost to you.  Of course, I am referring to inanimate items.  There is no way to ever replace a loved one and it is a surety that my loved ones come first always.  But, what of treasured, prized possession?

My all time favorite, treasured, and prized Christmas possession is the 3 Wisemen hanging that my Pop made.  I am not totally sure when he created this treasure, but for as long as I can remember, it was always there at Christmas.  I absolutely love this hanging, always have.  For me, the house isn’t complete until they hang in their spot at Christmas.

wisemen

There is one more very strong memory from my childhood that involved my Pop’s creativity.  Christmas cards!  I can remember the him carving one end of a potato in to a stamp for our cards.  He would set up a table with stations for each of us to stand at.  At our station was our stamp and color paint.  In assembly line fashion, we each added our stamp in the same place as the card passed by us.  They were laid out to dry and then Mom and Pop wrote their traditional Christmas Letter to place in the card.  I wish I had one to show you!  It was so much fun!

In 2007, my parents gave us all a folder with copies of every letter they had written.  They went all the way back to 1967, talk about your memory lane!  We must have made cards in those early years, I would have been 5 or 6 years old.  Such fun, most of my favorite memories aren’t big grand ventures, no they are the simple, creative, and fun times we had just interacting as a family.

I had the best childhood!  So awesome that I wanted to give that to our kids and now our kids are trying to do the same for their children.  What a legacy! Thanks Mom, I don’t think I have told you enough how special you both were/are as parents!  I hit the parents Jackpot when God gave me to you.  Pop, you may not be here in the flesh, but you are in everything I do,  all that I am,  and in all my best memories.  Those memories fill up all the empty spaces you left behind.  I bring them out and share them so frequently that it is like you are still here.

Merry Christmas everyone, cherish, forgive, love, and accept each other, just as you are.  Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Family, Holiday, Inspirational, journeys, Memories and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Full of memories…..

  1. Theresa Boyle says:

    Oh Cyn, How I love you. These days are hard but with you, Corinne and Chris here for me I am the luckiest Mom. Those kings were made in San Jose probably when you were 3 or 4. I wrote a letter this year but didn’t think to make a copy to give each of you. Give everyone a hug I WILL CALL CHRISTMAS MOM

  2. Chris says:

    I remember the potato assembly line. I don’t know if it is just me, but I picture Dad in some plaid beach hat doing the assembly line with us. Come to think of it, I always picture Dad with that hat on. Home made stockings over the fireplace – that’s yours in the background. Oh, how I too loved my childhood, my sisters, a family, sewed neatly together with the love of our parents. Thank you for sharing a glimpse of our past. You made this old man cry. I love you. Merry Christmas.

  3. Corinne Boyle says:

    I dont remember the assembly line… I was too far behind you two. But I do remember the kings hanging and our old felt stockings (which I still hang each year). Thank you both for the glimpse into Christmas past. Warms me from the inside out. Love you guys. xoxoxo Cor

Leave a Reply

