Hooked…..

Surfing through Pinterest has become a frequent past time for me of late.  I get home from work and spend my lunch hour cruising through all the fantastically clever ideas.  I kept finding myself looking at the same afghan pattern nearly every day.  Now, while I am not an owl fan, the Linus Project would find someone who loves owls right?

While my daughter, Colleen, was recovering from surgery this last month or so, I sent her some pins that I just thought would be fun to crochet.  Of course the owl afghan was one of them, lol.  I just kept coming back to it over and over.  The colors were fun and it was just plain cute.  I made the decision to buy the pattern and just get it out of my system…….. make the darn thing!

be3c024f0393ecec7eaf3ae8500c2fa7

Owl Obsession from The Hat and I designs by Marken

Well, ya see why I kept coming back to it?  This is the picture that was pinned of the pattern.  So fun and cheerful.  Only one problem, this yarn is wool.  I try to stay away from wool, due to Colleen being allergic to it!  There is only one exception to that rule, Aran Sweaters!  I brought back two from Ireland, oh boy and there are more of those in my future!  Nice thing is, Colleen won’t try to borrow them, lol.

It has taken me a while to find yarn in town that might just create a similar effect, nylon of course.  The Lion Brand came out with a “Landscape” series , similar to the chroma style yarn in the picture.

landscapeyarn

So far I have gotten 4 owl bases and 4 beaks, I think I will be able to get one more of each from this skein.    I only grabbed one skein to see if it would work, now I need to pick up some more to finish.

owlbase

This chroma yarn has a shorter graduation of colors in comparison to the original design.  These colors are also a lot more vibrant!  Doubling the smiling and cheerful quotient!

Colleen has a co-worker who is owl crazy and has expressed an interest in purchasing this afghan when I finish.  We shall see, it is still a work in progress.   I so enjoy the challenge of new patterns and this one has just started, assembling all the components will be fun.  Once it is finished then they can decide if it is their cup of tea.

In the meantime, I am having a ball, literally lol, with this vibrant new yarn and watching it become adorable owls in the process.  I must admit that I don’t think white will work for the main color.  I think I will have to shop around for that color, bringing my owls with me to make sure they are compatible.

Fun, fun, fun,…..Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Needlecrafting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hooked…..

  1. So cute! I’ve always wanted to try that yarn…now I just might! I love that owl afghan…you do beautiful work!

Leave a Reply

