Puzzle this…..

Avoiding plopping down in front of the television has been a long time goal of ours.  We only have cable for Steven’s Mom, she watches sun up to sun down.  We vary rarely turn the cable part of our television on.  There are the rare Seattle Seahawk games, Rafa Nadal tennis matches, and NCAA Basketball I admit.  The only problem is that the television limits what you can accomplish during the time you choose to watch.

I have long been a book on tape enthusiast.  To say that I love to listen to programs is an understatement.  Our son, Shamus, encouraged me to buy the Sirius Radio equipment and subscription 2 years ago.  It is one of the best investments we have made.  Instead of being held captive by the televised sporting events, I take the sporting event where ever I am going!  It’s fantastic!  Whether I am gardening, cooking, sewing, or just plain lounging in the yard, we have all our sporting events with us.  Oh, and the music is also wonderful!

Over the last few weeks, we have started to watch our grandchildren afterschool 3 days a week and on the weekends.  Their Dad was finally able to secure a good full time job.  With both of their parents working the same schedule, we are filling in the gaps when needed.  Our grandchildren are televisionaholics!  Seriously, this inability to entertain themselves without the benefit of a video, movie, or a television show is frustrating.

When the weather is nice, we send them out to ride bikes up and down our lane, but otherwise it is a struggle to keep them busy.  Exhaustingly so.  Through out the winter/spring seasons growing up we never struggled to find a solitary pursuit.  Reading, needlework, sewing, solitaire, and baking were always waiting for me to pick up where I had left off.  Oooooh, let’s not forget PUZZLES.  A puzzle could fill up all the spare time, in a hot minute the day was gone.  My whole family loved puzzles. I spent many wonderful hours with my Grandma, Mom, and sisters doing puzzles.

I bought some fun 150 to 300 piece puzzles for our grandchildren to try.  They are 10 and 11 years old, way past the time I started assembling puzzles.  Too funny, they both said that they were too complicated and “complex” my grandson said.  Steven and I laughed and said “that’s the point, to solve the puzzle”.  They were just not entertaining enough.  So, I have pulled one out that Steven bought me for Christmas.

lombardstreetbox

I know once I get it started they will be wanting to help.   I think I will start one of theirs on the kitchen table for them to take over.

puzzleframe

The trick is to pace myself, I don’t want it to go too fast.  If only that will happen, lol.  I have a spare in the wings…..

leafpuzzle

The weather is cold and damp again, with rain on the horizon.  This was the perfect time to get a puzzle going.  Just like Pinterest, I will have to make sure I limit my time or the day will be gone before I know it…….Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Puzzle this…..

  1. Theresa Boyle says:

    OK I want to know how long it takes you to do Lombard. It took me 5 days to do Christmas trees and I am home all the time. Have a 1000 puzzle of a store front with vegs and stuff. Have fun, Love you, Mom

    • designbycyn says:

      This one didn’t take too long, I finished in a couple days. I think if you puzzled it all day you could finish it in one. I only got to puzzle it after work for a few hours each time. Love you, Cyn

Leave a Reply

