Bucket Check…..

Okay, I thought as I got older I would have MORE free time, not less.  I am busier today than I was while raising 3 young children, daycare for 5 under age of 5 kids, and working nights!  Seriously!  I am so tired most of the time that the minute I sit down, it is lights out!  I keep rationalizing that this will pass and I will have more free time for fun creative adventures, gardening, or curling up with a good book (any book at this point).  Nope, nada, whoo hoo this woman is delusional.

I am serious about this too.  I am so busy that my family is calling months in advance to schedule (carve out really, lol) time to get together.  The calendar on my phone even has dates for the movies, let alone dentist appointments.  This is such unfamiliar territory for me.  Sometimes I think I may have to send myself text reminder to use the bathroom. Lol.

One of the weekends my daughter, Colleen, nailed me down for at Thanksgiving has just come and gone.  We spent the most wonderfully fun, awesomely exhausting, and top-notch quality of time together.  We spent 3 days in Disneyland!  The weather was perfect, except for a 3 hour spring shower.  Warm, but not too warm; busy, but not too crowded; with enough time to visit, laugh, play like kids, and cram as much into each day as we possibly could.

Col&IDisneyland

I learned how to navigate the Fast-Pass, as Disney hadn’t had this jewel 20 years ago.  A wonderful time saver and saved this old body from stiffening up while waiting in long lines.  Attended my first Main Street Electrical Light Parade.  It was too windy for fireworks, but that was fine with me I was on sensory overload anyway.

The highlight of this trip was meeting my matinee idol!  Most young girls went crazy for Mark Hamel or Harrison Ford when I was in high school.  No, not me, it was love at first sight when the Wookie came on the screen!  I went to see the Original Star Wars 4 or 5 times just to see Chewbacca in May of 1977.  When the trilogy ended, I didn’t think we’d ever see Chewbacca on screen again.  This was way before videos were to make an appearance.  Suffice it to say, I love the character Chewbacca.

My daughter got us in line to take a picture with him.  That was exciting just in itself.  While I was busy talking to other Star Wars enthusiasts, she sneakily made arrangements with the staff.  Letting them know about my infatuation with the Wookie.  They were all prepared for me to be surprised.  Colleen just drifted back and watched……

Me&Chewbacca1

Me&Chewbacca3

Me&Chewbacca5

Me&Chewbacca6

Me&Chewbacca7

Thank you, Col!  I can now cross this off my bucket list.  Although I wouldn’t mind getting another hug if the chance arises, lol.  Thank you also to the cast at Disneyland!  You didn’t have to spend those 20 minutes or so with me taking these pictures and indulging this starstruck old lady.  It truly was a dream come true and I have the pictures to prove it!

Colleen told me after we had left and I had stopped crying, that they hardly ever get requests of this kind.  I mean from adults who have admired the characters for so long.  Usually it is for a small child, who ends up screaming and not wanting to go near.  Well, I really appreciated the time, indulgence, and warm welcome from the cast.  I am pleased that my reactions gave them something to smile and talk about later.

Whew, my Steven has a lot to live up to, lol   I am so glad Colleen scheduled our trip into my calendar!…..Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Family, Memories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

