All things Beatles….

On May 18th, this year, Sirius Radio premiered the “Beatles Channel”.  All I could think of was, “It’s about bloody time!”. (now all I need to be in heaven is a Queen Channel, lol)  Well, I immediately programmed the Beatles right into our radios.  Paul was my favorite, who was yours?  Come on we all have a favorite, come clean!  The station has guest who play their favorite lineup and let you know the memories behind their choices.  It is fun to listen to all things Beatles and hear from other musicians how they influenced their lives.

There were two “Beatles” memories in my life that stand out.  The Beatles had already gone on to separate careers by the time I was old enough to understand who they were.  The radio stations I listened to with my friends didn’t play them either.  However, he he he, my brother Chris had the red and blue double albums!  He used to play them and I was so drawn to their sound.  It was upbeat, fun, and irresistible!  Unfortunately, I got caught borrowing his albums without his permission and whooo-wee it wasn’t pretty!  There was only one safe place to run, that was the orchard across the road, lol.  He took some time to cool off, so you would definitely stay away till the coast was clear.

Kids, brothers, siblings, such memories!  I was definitely a pain is his patuttie!  But man he had some great tunes and I really loved his record collection!  It still brings a smile to remember how uncharacteristically ballsy I was when it came to those Beatles albums.  Love ya big brother!

My first recollection of Paul McCartney and Wings was hearing “Uncle Albert” the first time, on the school bus.  Mr. Fish, our driver, always had KFRC playing for us kids.    That still has to be my favorite!  I remember snagging my Pop’s portable radio out of his work room and tuning it into KFRC.  Again, breaking the rules.  I would wait as long as it took to hear the song play, then put it back.  Unfortunately, again I got caught cause I forgot to turn the station back to Pop’s station.  Man, I have always stunk at subterfuge!  Never a good liar either, lol.  Those were the days!  McCartney and Wings became a favorite of mine and still are to this very day.

Music has such power, power over your moods, feelings, and yeah sometime your feet!  My kids could tell what kind of mood I was in, just by the music that would be playing when they came through the door.  Music still has the ability to transform a not so great mood into a much improved mood.  You’ll find that gradually your choices become more and more upbeat, pretty soon you are smiling and singing, the next thing you know you are dancing around and “Bingo” the day is fantastic!  I swear by it!

Music is my therapist, I can tell it anything and it always has the answer I need to hear!….Cyn

About designbycyn

Sonoma County, California ceramic enthusiasts Cyn and Steven Gradek have worked in the clay medium since 1996. They had a retail store where they held classes and provided the essentials for fellow ceramic enthusiasts. The business evolved into producing for other retail outlets and artist. Which quickly grew and they closed the retail storefront and concentrated on the wholesale business. With their 3 children raised and on their own, they had time to pursue their own creativity. Cyn learned how to embroider from her Grandma Cirner at a young age. After that she found sewing, cross stitching, crocheting, well you get the jist, LOL. She hasn't met a craft that she hasn't liked. Blogging was suggested by her youngest daughter, Colleen. At first it was a battle to get her to try it, but eventually Cyn started to enjoy the exercise. The blog on Cyn's website designbycyn.com was limiting, so Colleen got her started with Wordpress. Hope you enjoy her Adventures with Creativity!
This entry was posted in Family, Memories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All things Beatles….

  1. Chris (brother) says:

    For the “record,” I still have those two albums, . . . and 1000 more. But I only remember me as the sweet protective big brother. Right? Hiding in the orchard is counter to my memory, so now I am conflicted. LOL. I love the Beatles Channel too. What a catalog the Fab Four have. Rubber Soul has got to be in everybody’s top ten of all time.

Leave a Reply

